- “No one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15th because of this update,” it said. “WhatsApp won’t delete your account if you don’t accept the update.”
- The new policy went into effect on May 15, and initially WhatsApp said it would slowly limit functionality.
- WhatsApp was caught up in several court cases and responded by pointing to other apps, saying they collect more data.
- The rollout of the new policy announced in January raised concerns that user data would be shared with Facebook. Some data such as user phone numbers is already being shared.
- WhatsApp later clarified that this data was not being shared with Facebook, and that the new policy would only affect messages sent to WhatsApp for Business accounts.
- WhatsApp also confirmed that chats between individuals are end to end encrypted and can not even be read by the messaging platform, or shared with others.
- It also added that WhatsApp calls are similarly encrypted and can not be listened to either.
- It’s not clear whether the legal cases in India had any impact on WhatsApp’s decision or if it changed course because of user pushback around the world.